top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisakanya Ashley Venna

Penny Ntuli cuts off ties with Gagasi FM

Updated: Mar 26



Penny Ntuli leaves Gagasi FM

Radio personality and influencer Penny Ntuli has taken to social media the shocking news of requesting for her contract not to be renewed at Gagasi FM.


Every year Gagasi FM reviews contracts with its employers based on listenership and suitable slots for presenters, and this was nothing new when Penny was asked to sign a new contract and to her surprise the contract stated that she will earn R711 per show which airs for 3hours on Sundays alone. Penny claims to have felt belittled by the company and addressed the issue with her line manager, Ayanda Melansi who responded by saying " Penny, I think you can check other things to do."


Penny further revealed how Melansi's statement crushed her self-esteem and confidence in broadcasting. "Because indirectly it's like i am being told you are not good enough, try other things."


After joining Gagasi FM in 2022 Penny has revealed a statement of resignation and posted a video on her tick tock page explaining her reasons for calling it quits at Gagasi FM, with some fans saying the money was fair since she will be working +- 4days in a month and others encouraging her to start a podcast since she a huge following and majority sympathising with her in this tough economy.


"Ngithi angithathe lelithuba ngiphefumule. Ngiyazi sekukaningi amaphephandaba ebhala ngegama lami, ukuthi sengilaxaze umsebenzi.

Firstly ngithi Angisho entathelini yephepha Ilanga Newspaper ukuthi, I don’t appreciate the words you used to publish this article. Ningibeke njengomuntu ongenawo ungyabonga but also I understand you’d do anything to sell a story & every time I did any good anikaze nibhale ngami.

To confirm the “rumours”, yebo ngiyashiya emsebenzini. It was time to renew contracts & I was given the opportunity to come back this season. I gladly accepted the new show until I was told ukuthi I’ll be getting paid R 2 800 p/m. (Something not too far from what I was getting paid the past 2 years). Ngike ngazizwa ngidelelekile kodwa ngehlisa umoya ngabuyela kubaphathi ukuyocela ukuthi bathi review my salary. Ngaleyo mali angeke ngikwazi kwenza lutho. I asked ukuthi where will I be approved? Impilo izoma mengiveza iPayslip yami. I asked ngizowondla kanjan umndeni wami ngalemali ngoba bonke babheke mina? Bona bangaphila ngalemali? Bengingalwi. Umphathi wami u-Ayanda Melansi in the negotiations suggested I consider other things other than being ON AIR (this also killed my confidence heavily) 😔

Ngibe sengithatha isinqumo sokuthi ngizocela bangabe besayivuselela iContract yami kulonyaka. Angiyekanga ngoba kukhona okungcono osengikutholile. Angiyekanga ngoba ngingasathandi, umuntu owazi mina uyazi how much I love ukusakaza and how much I love Gagasi FM but it’s true I’m not coming back this year kodwa yize kunjalo ngiyabonga kakhulu kwiGagasi FM for the opportunity. ♥💯

By the way, for those Aspiring Presenters who’d love to go Commercial, sikhona iskhala shoot your shot.🔥🙏🏽💯🙌🏾😉" Penny explained in her social media statement.


Gagasi FM has not said anything on the matter.

6 views

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page